The institute

The Research Institute on Contemporary Southeast Asia (USR 3142 – UMIFRE 22 CNRS-MAEDI) has since 2001 focused its activities on the political, economic, social and environmental evolutions of the eleven countries of the region (Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam). Based in Bangkok, the Institute promotes transdisciplinary and regional approache.


Scientific Council